Capital Township
Springfield, Illinois

Home   Transparency Page   Elected Officials    General Assistance    Assessor    Collector  

  Clerk    Freedom Of Information Act Parcel Inquiry Contact Us



Welcome to the Capital Township home page. Capital Township was established and named by the Sangamon County Board on March 6, 1878.

On February 17, 1892 the limits of Capital Township were made co-extensive with the limits of the City of Springfield. Capital Township is unique among Townships in Illinois for several reasons. First, Capital Township's boundaries are coterminous with the City of Springfield. Second, due to the coterminous relationship with the City of Springfield, all the roads in the Township are maintained by the Springfield Department of Public Works. Consequently, Capital Township does not have a road commissioner or levee for road maintenance. Finally, the Sangamon County Clerk and the Sangamon County Treasurer are ex officio township officers. The Clerk and the Treasurer function as the Township Clerk/Assessor and Township Supervisor/Collector respectively.

Capital Township provides three main functions to the residents of the City of Springfield-Capital Township. Those functions are assessing property within the Township, collecting the first installment of property taxes on property located within the Township and administering general assistance to qualifying residents.






An Equal Opportunity Employer