Capital Township
Springfield, Illinois
Home     Elected Officials    General Assistance    Assessor    Collector    Clerk     Parcel Inquiry   Freedom of Information   Contact Us



Sangamon County is one of only five Illinois counties with township collectors. The Sangamon County Treasurer is also the Capital Township Collector and the Capital Township Supervisor. This unique relationship is prescribed by State of Illinois Law.

Supervisor/Collector - Thomas K. Cavanagh

Tax Payment Information

In Sangamon County, the first installment of property taxes is billed, mailed, collected, and distributed by each township collector for parcels that are located in their township. Property taxes in Sangamon County are due in two equal installments. The first installment is normally due in early June.  The second installment is due on the first Friday in September. Due to the unique relationship with Sangamon County, the Capital Township Collectorís office coordinates all of these functions through the County Treasurerís office.  Please visit the Sangamon County Treasurerís website at to learn more information about tax payment options and due dates.  Current year property tax information is available online for all Sangamon County parcels at

To e-mail the collectors office please use: